Kingdom : Animalia
                         Class : Reptilia
                      Family : Chamaeleonidae
       Scientific Name : Chamaeleonidae

                      Size(L) : 2.8cm - 68.5cm 
                                         ( 1.1in - 27in)
                      Weight : 0.01kg - 2kg 
                                         ( 0.02lbs - 4.4lbs)
                Top Speed : 35km.h (21mph)
                  Life Span : 4 - 8 years

                      Colour : Green, Brown, Black, 
                                       Yellow, Red, Tan
                 Skin Type : Scales
Distinctive Features : Exceptional vision
                                      and ability to 
                                       change skin colour
  1. Chameleons are species of Lizards found in jungles and deserts of Asia, Africa and southern Europe.
  2. There are around 160 different species of Chameleons.
  3. Distinctively, they have large eyes and curved tails.
  4. They may differ in length ranging from 3 cm to 70 cm, depending on the species.
  5. They are best known as lizards that can change color to camouflage into their surroundings.
  6. Some of them can change to colors like pink, blue, orange, red, green, turquoise, black etc.
  7. They have incredible eyesight and are able to have a complete 360-degree vision around them.
  8. They are omnivores feeding on leaves, fruits, insects, worms, snails and occasionally small reptiles.
  9. Their predators are tree dwelling snakes, birds and other mammals.
  10. The female chameleon digs a hole under the ground and lays her eggs there.
  11. Depending on the species the number of eggs laid and their hatching period differs.
  12. Deforestation, habitat changes and pollution are posing a huge threat to chameleons.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *