Kingdom : Animalia
                     Class : Mammalia
                  Family : Macropodidae
   Scientific Name : Macropus

                       Size : 30 - 180cm 
                                   (12 - 71in)
                 Weight : 1 - 20kg 
                                   (2.2 - 4.4lbs)
           Top Speed : 48km/h (30mph)
            Life Span : 12 - 15 years

                Colour : Grey, Brown, Tan,
           Skin Type : Fur
Special Features : Very sociable animal
                                  with a long tail
  1. The Wallaby is a medium sized, kangaroo-like marsupial found originally in Australia.
  2. There are about 30 different species of Wallabies found throughout Australia.
  3. They have powerful hind legs which help them hop to great lengths and heights.
  4. Fore legs are used for feeding the young and tails are used for balancing.
  5. Their hind legs are also used for defence purposes for delivering strong kicks.
  6. They are herbivores and feed mainly on grass, fruits, seeds and leaves.
  7. They are social animals, often found in groups called as court, mob or troupe.
  8. The main predators of the wallaby are crocodiles, snakes, foxes and wild dogs.
  9. Due to increased interactions with humans they also get killed in road accidents.
  10. The Wallaby can live for about 12 – 15 years on an average.
  11. They have been successfully introduced in places like England, Hawaii, France, New Zealand etc.
  12. Gestation period of the wallaby is one month and litter size is usually 1.
  13. Baby wallabies called joeys are carried by the mothers safely in a warm pouch.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *