Kingdom : Animalia
                         Class : Mammalia
                      Family : Elephantidae
       Scientific Name : Loxodonta Africana

                      Size(H) : 2m - 3.6m
                                       ( 7ft - 12ft)
                      Weight : 3,000kg-5,400kg 
                                      (6,500lbs- 12,000lbs)
                 Top Speed : 40km/h (25mph)
                  Life Span : 55 - 70 years

                      Colour : Grey
                 Skin Type : Leather
Distinctive Features : Long body size and
                                      long trunk
  1. Elephants are large mammals which are mainly classified as Asian elephants and African elephants.
  2. There are various subspecies of Asian Elephants like The Indian Elephant, Sri Lankan Elephant etc.
  3. The African elephants are larger than the Asian Elephants.
  4. The two subspecies of African Elephants are The African Bush Elephants and African Forest Elephant.
  5. Interestingly, they are the only animals which can’t jump despite having knees.
  6. That could be because of their short and stocky legs which support their huge weight.
  7. They are herbivores feeding mainly on plant matter.
  8. Would you believe that they spend around 22 hours a day eating?.
  9. Strangely, they are known to be quite uncomfortable around mice which are really tiny in size.
  10. Their feet are formed in a way to effectively help them walk on tip toes.
  11. They use their feet to collect small amounts of water and dig up roots.
  12. Their tusks are actually their incisors, and all their teeth are made of ivory.
  13. Humans have relentlessly hunted elephants for their precious ivory teeth and tusks.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *