Kingdom : Animalia
                          Class : Bivalvia
                       Family : Ostreidae
        Scientific Name : Ostreidae

                      Size(L) : 3cm - 15cm
                                         (1.2in - 6in)
                      Weight : 50g - 200g 
                                         (1.7oz - 7oz)
   Average Life Span : 1 - 3 years
                        Color : Black, Brown, Yellow,
                                       Tan, Silver,White

                 Skin Type : Shell
Distinctive Features : Filter water through 
                                       their hard shell
  1. Oysters are immobile molluscs that are found worldwide clinging to the debris, harbor walls and shipwrecks.
  2. Oysters are very closely related to scallops, clams and mussels.
  3. They are found in salt water especially in the temperate regions where there are more nutrients.
  4. They are one of the oldest animals in the world.
  5. The numerous species of oysters are broadly categorized into 4 categories.
  6. They are- true oysters, pearl oysters, thorny oysters and saddle oysters.
  7. True oysters are the ones that are eaten by human beings.
  8. Oysters are filter feeders filtering and collecting food through their gills.
  9. Depending on the species the method of reproduction varies for the oysters.
  10. Some of them are hermaphrodites and for some species the sexes differ.
  11. The oyster larvae swim for the first few weeks and finally attach themselves to some objects.
  12. Once attached the oysters do not move from there for the rest of their lives.
  13. Their numerous predators include humans, birds, marine mammals, sea turtles and fish.
  14. Though commercially farmed, chemical free healthy oysters are rare to find today.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *