Kingdom : Animalia
                    Class : Mammalia
                 Family : Canidae
  Scientific Name : Canis Aureus
                      Size : 90 - 105cm (35 - 42in)
                 Weight : 6.8 - 11kg (15 - 24lbs)
           Top Speed : 32km/h (20mph)
            Life Span : 8 - 15 years

                Colour : Tan, Brown, 
                                 Grey, White
           Skin Type : Fur
Special Features : Short body and 
                                large ears and eyes
  1. Jackals are medium-sized animals belonging to the Dog family.
  2. They are found in Africa, Asia and South-East Europe.
  3. There are 4 species- the Golden Jackal, The Side-Striped Jackal, The Black-backed Jackal and the Ethiopian Wolf Jackal.
  4. They have typically short bodies, large eyes and ears.
  5. They inhabit other animals’ dens and cervices in rocks to stay cool while sleeping.
  6. They are nocturnal animals which may also hunt occasionally during the cooler times of the day.
  7. They generally have packs of around 10-30 jackals.
  8. Though they belong to a pack, they prefer hunting alone.
  9. They use the advantage of numbers in their pack to mainly protect each other.
  10. They are carnivores mainly preying on small mammals, birds and reptiles.
  11. Surprisingly, some jackals even eat poisonous snakes.
  12. They are also scavengers and very rarely also eat plant matter if no meat is found.
  13. Jackals are exceptionally territorial animals, known to fiercely defend their marked territory.
  14. They have a variety of vocal sounds, specific to each jackal family.
  15. This helps in keeping the competing families out of each other’s way.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *