Kingdom : Animalia
                    Class : Mammalia
                 Family : Cervidae
  Scientific Name : Alces Alces 

                      Size : 1.8 - 2.1m (6 - 7ft)
                 Weight : 270 - 720kg 
                                  (600 - 1,580lbs)
           Top Speed : 32km/h (20mph)
            Life Span : 10 - 16 years

                Colour : Tan, Brown, Grey
           Skin Type : Hair
Special Features : Long head and large 
                               antlers on the male
  1. Moose are found in North America and Europe inhabiting the cold plains.
  2. They are also known as Elks and are known as twig eaters by the local people.
  3. The male moose have huge antlers which fall and regrow every year.
  4. The female moose do not have antlers.
  5. There are 6 subspecies- The European Moose, The Eastern Moose, The Western Moose, The Alaskan Moose, The Siberian Moose and The Shiras Moose.
  6. The different subspecies are classified based on their geographical location.
  7. The male moose sheds its antlers after the breeding season to conserve energy for winter.
  8. They start growing their antlers at the start of spring.
  9. The female moose gives birth to a single calf after an 8-month gestation.
  10. The moose calf stays on with its mother till another calf is due to be born.
  11. They are known to live in herds.
  12. Moose are herbivores, feeding on grass, twigs and pond weed.
  13. Their natural predators are bears, wolves and humans.
  14. Humans have hunted them as trophies and also for meat.
  15. Though they are not aggressive by nature, they are known to attack humans when provoked.
  16. On an average, they live to be around 10-16 years old.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *