Kingdom : Animalia
                    Class : Mammalia
                 Family : Suidae
  Scientific Name : Phacochoerus Africanus

                      Size : 0.9 - 1.5m (3 - 5ft)
                 Weight : 50 - 150kg 
                                 (110 - 330lbs)
           Top Speed : 48km/h (30mph)
            Life Span : 12 - 18 years

                Colour : Brown, Tan, Grey
           Skin Type : Hair
Special Features : Strong, curved tusks
                                and broad snout
  1. The warthog is a large kind of pig that lives in the African savannah.
  2. There are 2 main types of warthogs: desert warthog and cape warthog.
  3. Warthogs have a sturdy body and males are significantly heavier than females.
  4. They also have tusks that are used for fighting and digging for food.
  5. Their warts are used for cushioning when fighting with other male warthogs.
  6. They live in burrows that keep them warm and safe.
  7. Warthogs don’t dig their own burrows, instead they occupy empty burrows of other animals.
  8. They are omnivorous and eat roots, grass, bulbs and also insects and worms.
  9. They kneel on their fore legs to eat and run with their tails held high.
  10. They can live for about 12 – 18 years.
  11. Predators of warthogs include big cats like lions and cheetahs as well as crocodiles.
  12. Warthogs are social animals and live in small family groups.
  13. Male warthogs are called boars, females are called sows and babies are called piglets.
  14. Piglets are looked after by sows until she is ready for the next litter.
  15. Litter size is usually 4 since each piglet has one teat to suckle on.
  16. Warthogs are hunted by humans for their meat and their tusks.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *